Clinical trials with medicinal products

Here you will find information and assistance for the submission of a clinical study according to the German Medical Product Act (AMG) to one or more ethics committees in Germany.

Ethics committees perform statutory tasks in accordance with the German Medical Products Act and Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 of the European Parliament and of the Council of April 16, 2014, and to this extent are a public body (authority).

The EU Regulation 536/2014 specifies that the documents to be evaluated are divided into two sections: Part 1 (including protocol and investigator information, benefit-risk assessment; see Article 6) and Part 2 (including requirements for consent; recruitment; suitability of the trial site as well as persons involved in the conduct; data protection; insurance; handling of biomaterials; Article 7). For Germany, it was specified in 2016 that ethics committees provide an assessment for both parts (see § 40 (4) and (5) and § 41 (1) AMG new). The higher federal authority (BOB) assesses all aspects to be evaluated in part 1 and makes the final decision (approval or refusal; see Section 40 (8) AMG new). In doing so, the BOB is bound by the opinion of the Ethics Committee on Part 2. The opinion on Part 1 must be taken into decisive consideration by the BOB; deviations from it must be documented and justified in the BOB’s decision (see § 40 (8) and § 41 (3) AMG new).

Until the date of application of EU (VO) 536/2014, the following applies: Ethics Committee and BOB evaluate and decide independently of each other. The clinical trial may only be carried out if there is a positive evaluation by the Ethics Committee and an approval by the BOB (§ 40 (1) AMG).

The following texts and templates serve the purpose of harmonization and quality assurance. They have been agreed upon in extensive consultations within the AKEK. Their regular application contributes significantly to the acceleration of the entire approval procedure.

Our texts and templates are until now only available in german. We are working hard to provide english translations as soon as possible. Please note that not all texts have yet been adapted to the GDPR.

Applications in accordance with Regulation (EU) 536/2014

Joint pilot project of federal higher authorities and ethics committees for the processing of applications for clinical trials with medicinal products for human use in accordance with Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 while simultaneously taking into account the legal requirements of the German Medical Products Act and the GCP Regulation.

Arzneimittelprüfungen

Hier finden Sie Informationen und Hilfestellungen für die Einreichung einer klinischen Studie nach Arzneimittelgesetz bei einer oder mehreren Ethik-Kommissionen in Deutschland.

Ethik-Kommissionen nehmen gesetzliche Aufgaben nach dem Arzneimittelgesetz sowie der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 536/2014 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 16.04.2014 wahr und sind insoweit eine öffentliche Stelle (Behörde).

Die EU-Verordnung 536/2014 legt fest, dass die zu bewertenden Unterlagen in zwei Abschnitte unterteilt werden: Teil 1 (u.a. Prüfplan und Prüferinformation, Nutzen-Risiko Bewertung; siehe Artikel 6) und Teil 2 (u. a. Voraussetzungen für die Einwilligung; Rekrutierung; Eignung der Prüfstelle sowie der an der Durchführung beteiligen Personen; Datenschutz; Versicherung; Handhabung von Biomaterialien; Artikel 7). Für Deutschland wurde 2016 festgelegt, dass Ethik-Kommissionen für beide Teile eine Bewertung abgeben (siehe § 40 Abs. 4 und 5 sowie § 41 Abs. 1 AMG neu). Die Bundesoberbehörde (BOB) beurteilt alle im Teil 1 zu bewertenden Aspekte und fällt die abschließende Entscheidung (Genehmigung oder Versagung; siehe § 40 Abs. 8 AMG neu). Dabei ist die BOB  an die Stellungnahme der Ethik-Kommission zu Teil 2 gebunden. Die Stellungnahme zu Teil 1  muss die BOB maßgeblich berücksichtigen, Abweichungen davon sind in der Entscheidung der BOB zu dokumentieren und zu begründen  (siehe § 40 Abs. 8 und § 41 Abs. 3 AMG neu).

Bis zum Zeitpunkt der Anwendung der EU (VO) 536/2014 gilt:  Ethik-Kommission und  BOB bewerten und entscheiden unabhängig voneinander. Die klinische Prüfung darf nur bei Vorliegen einer zustimmenden Bewertung der Ethik-Kommission sowie einer Genehmigung der BOB durchgeführt werden (§ 40 Abs. 1 AMG).

Die nachfolgenden Mustertexte dienen der Harmonisierung und Qualitätssicherung. Sie wurden in umfangreichen Abstimmungen innerhalb des AKEK konsentiert. Ihre regelhafte Anwendung trägt wesentlich zur Beschleunigung des gesamten Genehmigungsverfahrens bei.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass noch nicht alle Texte an die DSGVO angepasst sind.

Anträge entsprechend der Verordnung (EU) 536/2014

Gemein­sames Pilot­pro­jekt von Bun­des­ober­be­hör­den und Ethik-​Kommissionen zur Bear­beitung von Anträ­gen klin­is­cher Prü­fun­gen mit Huma­narzneimit­teln entsprechend der Verord­nung (EU) Nr. 536/​2014 unter gle­ichzeit­iger Berück­sich­ti­gung der geset­zlichen Vor­gaben von Arzneimit­telge­setz und GCP-​Verordnung